Maricourt Catholic School

Maricourt Catholic School
Motto Latin: Gaudeamus in Domino
"Let us Rejoice in the Lord"
Established 1957
Type Voluntary Aided
Religion Roman Catholic
Headteacher Brendan McLoughlin MA
Chair of Governors Sister Marie Moore RSM
Founders Sisters of Mercy
Location Hall Lane
Maghull
Merseyside
L31 3DZ
United Kingdom United Kingdom
Coordinates: 53°30′29″N 2°56′17″W / 53.508°N 2.938°W / 53.508; -2.938
Local authority Sefton
DfE URN 104960 Tables
Ofsted Reports
Students 1,500
Gender Mixed
Ages 11–18
Colours

Maroon and Gold

                    
Publication Maricourt Voice
Pupils Maricourtians
Diocese Archdiocese of Liverpool
Website Maricourt Website

Maricourt Catholic School, in Maghull, Merseyside, United Kingdom, formerly Mater Misericordiae Grammar School, is one of two Roman Catholic secondary schools administered by the Sisters of Mercy in Merseyside, the other being Broughton Hall, West Derby. The school celebrated its 50th anniversary in 2007 with the new headmaster Brendan McLoughlin MA. The former headteacher Sister Mary Teresa RSM BSc was the last of the Sisters to be Head the school and ceased her duties in 2007, opting to remain as deputy chair of the Board of Governors. The school offers both GCSE and Advanced Level qualifications for male and female students.

History

The school was founded by the Sisters of Mercy on 12 September 1957, originally known as Mater Misericordiae Grammar School. It opened in the convent parlour of Quarry Brook House, former home of Meccano inventor and Conservative MP Frank Hornby, with only 16 eleven-year-old girls. The school eventually moved to the first small external section in January 1958. This section was formally blessed by Cardinal Heenan on 8 March in the same year. Due to the interest taken in it by the Bootle Education Committee, it rapidly grew in building size and pupil numbers, and became a voluntary aided Grammar School in September 1964, maintained by the Bootle Authority.

The school continued to run as a grammar school until November 1967, when the then Archbishop of Liverpool, Dr. Andrew Beck, approached the sisters to see if they would take over a nearby secondary school that had not yet opened, St. Paul's Catholic Secondary Modern. They agreed, and in September 1968 it was annexed to their existing building. It was the first co-educational voluntary aided school in the Archdiocese, opened under the new title of Maricourt Catholic High School, with Sister Mary Magdalen as headmistress. She retired at Christmas in 1989, and was succeeded by Sister Mary Teresa, who led the school until 2007. The school is now the largest Catholic secondary school in the Metropolitan Borough of Sefton. A jubilee mass was celebrated on 21 September 2007 in the Liverpool Metropolitan Cathedral. The chief celebrant was the Archbishop of Liverpool, Patrick Kelly, with thousands of friends, students, past and present attending the ceremony to celebrate the milestone.

Sixth Form

The Sixth Form at Maricourt was rated as gaining some of the highest Advanced Level results in Merseyside and stand consistently above the national average,[1] as well as enjoying a regular 100% pass rate for Advanced Level students. Maricourt works alongside Maghull High School and Deyes High School to form the Maghull Collaborative, in which students may study across these sixth forms to broaden the A-Level curriculum available within them. Facilities at Maricourt, based in Quarry Brook House, were subject to substantial refurbishment during the 2011 August Holidays with modified study areas as well as the conversion of one of Quarry Brook's larger first floor rooms into an Oratory for use by students.

School Grounds

Maricourt is split across two sites, Newman Hall and Arnold Hall, upper and lower school respectively. Newman Hall, named in the honour of Cardinal John Henry Newman, is considered the school's main site, and is home to both the administrative offices and most subject offices. School years 9 to 11 and the Sixth Form reside on this site for the majority of their lessons, and years 7 and 8 visit the site to use the available facilities, such as sports, drama and technology. Arnold Hall, previously the site of St Paul's Comprehensive, serves as the primary site for years 7 and 8, with sports facilities and rooms used by all students. Both sites have a large field used for recreation, physical education and sporting events.

Mission and Ethos

Maricourt seeks to provide and sustain a living Roman Catholic community which is rooted in Christian values and where growth and knowledge, respect, love and friendship are shared by all.

The mission statement is represented by a tree, symbolising Maricourt as a living community; with each year new people joining, whilst others move to the world of work or higher education. The school ethos fosters the development of each individual, a proper sense of self-worth, a sense of responsibility and respect for others. The school was founded in the tradition of the Sisters of Mercy, an institute founded for the service of those in need. Today, this is reflected in the school's intensive charity, such as the Good Shepherd Appeal and other local organisations.

Previous Headteachers

Since its opening in 1957, the school has had three head teachers. Until 2007 previous head teachers had been both female and members of the Sisters of Mercy.

Name Active
Sister Mary Magdalen RSM 1957–1989
Sister Mary Teresa RSM BSc 1989–2007
Mr Brendan McLoughlin MA 2007 – present

Notable former pupils

Alumni of Maricourt Catholic High School are known as Old Maricourtians. Noted Old Maricourtians include:[2]

References

This article is issued from Wikipedia - version of the 10/5/2016. The text is available under the Creative Commons Attribution/Share Alike but additional terms may apply for the media files.