Vegan cheese is a non-dairy or plant cheese analogue aimed at vegans and others who want to avoid animal products, including those who are lactose-intolerant. As with plant milk, vegan cheese can be made of soybeans, rice, almonds and other nuts, and nutritional yeast.
Vegan cheese is cholesterol-free and may be a good source of soy protein. Several brands melt in the way dairy cheese does. Popular brands include Biocheese, Cheezly, Daiya, Teese and Tofutti.
In 2016, a Facebook user's complaint that dairy-free cheese substitutes are "not cheese" and suggesting vegan cheese be renamed "Gary" became viral, with vegans and others enthusiastically endorsing the new name.
- ↑ Dixie Mahy, Miyoko Schinner, Artisan Vegan Cheese, Book Publishing Company, 2013, p. v.
- ↑ Alex Orlov (3 October 2016). "Vegan cheese might soon be called "Gary," thanks to one epic, viral Facebook rant". Mic. Retrieved 15 October 2016.
- ↑ Essel Pratt (2 October 2016). "Vegan Cheese Has Been Renamed Gary: Facebook Rant Sends Social Media In An Uproar". The Inquisitr News. Retrieved 15 October 2016.
Collection of primary sources
- Shurtleff, W.; Aoyagi, A. (2013). History of Cheese, Cream Cheese and Sour Cream Alternatives (With or Without Soy) (1896-2013):: Extensively Annotated Bibliography and Sourcebook. Soyinfo Center. ISBN 978-1-928914-61-7.
This article is issued from Wikipedia - version of the 11/1/2016. The text is available under the Creative Commons Attribution/Share Alike but additional terms may apply for the media files.