St. Dominics GAA

St. Dominics
Naomh Dominic
Founded: 1973
County: Roscommon
Nickname: The Doms
Colours: Blue and White
Grounds: Galey, Knockcroghery
Coordinates: 53°34′19.85″N 8°04′34.67″W / 53.5721806°N 8.0762972°W / 53.5721806; -8.0762972Coordinates: 53°34′19.85″N 8°04′34.67″W / 53.5721806°N 8.0762972°W / 53.5721806; -8.0762972
Playing kits
Standard colours
Senior Club Championships
All Ireland Connacht
Football: 0 0 6
Hurling: - 0 3

St. Dominics GAA Club (Naomh Dominic) is a Gaelic Athletic Association club based in Knockcroghery, County Roscommon, Ireland. It draws its membership from the half parishes of Knockcroghery, St. Johns and Rahara.. The current club was formed in 1973. Previously, up to four clubs from the parish were in existence at any one time.

St. Dominics is arguable the most complete GAA club in County Roscommon. They compete in both hurling and Gaelic football at all age groups as well as catering for Camogie, and Ladies Football. The club is one of the countries most enduring competitors in the GAA's talent competition Scor winning County Titles every year in all competitions.

St. Dominics was the home club of the legendary Jimmy Murray, captain of Roscommon GAA's All-Ireland Senior Football Championship winning teams of 1943 and 1944. Indeed, the club also supplied Phelim Murray, Jack McQuillan and Liam Gilmartin to that side.

Roll of honour

All-Ireland Medal Winners

Senior 1943

Jamesie Murray (c), Phelim Murray, Liam Gilmartin, Johnny Briens, Jim Brennan. Jack McQuillan also played with St. Patricks until a club was formed in his own parish of Ballyforan

Minor 2006

Mark Miley

Minor 1951

Ollie Murray

Minor 1939

Phelim Murray

Junior 1939

Tony Murray

This article is issued from Wikipedia - version of the 10/29/2016. The text is available under the Creative Commons Attribution/Share Alike but additional terms may apply for the media files.