Warsaw District

Coat of arms

Location of Praga-Północ within Warsaw
Coordinates: 52°15′48″N 21°1′42″E / 52.26333°N 21.02833°E / 52.26333; 21.02833Coordinates: 52°15′48″N 21°1′42″E / 52.26333°N 21.02833°E / 52.26333; 21.02833
Country  Poland
Voivodeship Masovian
County/City Warsaw
  Mayor Piotr Zalewski
  Total 11.4 km2 (4.4 sq mi)
Population (2012)
  Total 68,699
  Density 6,000/km2 (16,000/sq mi)
Time zone CET (UTC+1)
  Summer (DST) CEST (UTC+2)
Area code(s) +48 22

Praga-Północ (Polish pronunciation: [ˈpraɡa ˈpuwnɔt͡s], English: Praga-North) is a district in Warsaw located in the central part of the city.


Praga is one of the oldest districts in Warsaw. Through the centuries, Warsaw's right-bank was an independent town. In 1648 it was granted municipal rights by the king Władysław IV Vasa. It was joined to Warsaw at the end of 18th century. In the 1945 it was divided into Praga-Północ (North) and Praga-Południe (South).

Praga Północ is a district that survived the devastation of war, with three different religions (Catholicism, Orthodoxy and Judaism) peacefully co-existing. A major part of the buildings in this area have preserved its historical origins which makes it one of the best-preserved area of old buildings in the capital. In the district there are many streets which remained undamaged in WW II. Pre-war lamp-posts, sidewalks and blocks are notable features of the area.

At present, Praga Północ has an area of 11.4km2, and 68 699 inhabitants (2012). The district is becoming increasingly popular among artists and tourists.

Tourist attractions

Praga is one of few districts where you can experience the atmosphere of pre-war Warsaw.

It was opened in 1928, in the northern part of Park Praski. It was destroyed during the World War II and then restored and reopened in 1948. At present, the Zoological Garden has more than 5,000 animals representing nearly 500 species. One of the biggest attractions of the zoo are brown bears, whose enclosure is located outside the zoo walls and can be viewed by passers-by.

One of the three beaches in Warsaw is situated on the Warsaw’s right bank. It is only opened during summer and is several hundreds of meters long. It attracts hundreds of visitors due to its lawn chairs, wicker baskets, volleyball and badminton fields. In the evening concerts and DJs are featured. Right from the beach visitors can admire the view of the Old Town. Two other beaches on the Vistula River are located on the Cypel Czerniakowski and Wał Miedzeszyński Street.

The monument presents a neighbourhood band and plays popular old Warsaw tunes. In the band are a violinist, accordion player, guitarist, banjo player, and a drummer. It was revealed in 2006 and is surrounded by a small square.

It was founded in the end of 19th century by Julian Różycki, a wealthy pharmacist. For many years it served as a major trading center in the area.

Three houses that were built at the entrance to the Rożycki Bazaar. Two of them are the oldest buildings preserved in Praga District. They were built for a Jewish merchant Berek Rothblith. In the beginning of the 19th century, the houses were used as Jewish houses of prayer. Today, the buildings belong to the Museum of Praga.

Metropolitan Orthodox St. Mary Magdalene Church was opened in 1869. The building is inspired by Byzantine architecture. It is one of the biggest Polish Orthodox Churches.

Neighbourhoods within the district

This article is issued from Wikipedia - version of the 11/18/2016. The text is available under the Creative Commons Attribution/Share Alike but additional terms may apply for the media files.